The Electrolux ZA30

It is hard to imagine why this photograph was taken.  The image pre-dates my existence by several years as this is the view of my parent’s back garden in Chorlton, Manchester, somewhere I never lived.  It seems that Mum and Dad are using the reverse suction of their newly acquired Electrolux ZA30 vacuum cleaner to spray the garden.  Dad being an industrial chemist by trade, I imagine it was something akin to agent orange 😉

001-Electrolux-wordpress

I remember the device fondly.  To a pre-school imagination it bore a striking resemblance to the steam engines of the day (LMS Coronation Class to be precise) such that I could not resist using it to journey around the house. This was an industrial strength machine which gave many years of reliable service.  It was still in use when I was evicted from home many years later for sins deemed far greater than riding the vac.

Stranger than my image is the video of the same machine on YouTube.  The owner must be rightly proud of his Electrolux which ceased manufacture in 1948 🙂

 

15 comments

  1. Cate Franklyn · August 28, 2015

    My mom loved her Electrolux. They were “machines” indeed!

    • northumbrianlight · August 29, 2015

      And they got used every day Cate – mother was very house proud. A different generation (at least compared to our house 🙂 )

  2. Lignum Draco · August 29, 2015

    I can’t believe I just watched that video in its entirety. 🙂

  3. socialbridge · August 29, 2015

    It’s the eviction that I’m wondering about now!

    • northumbrianlight · August 30, 2015

      And you’ll wonder where the yellow went when you brush your teeth with Pepsodent – innocent times 🙂

  4. LaVagabonde · September 3, 2015

    They sure don’t make them like they used to…

    • northumbrianlight · September 4, 2015

      Indeed they don’t – much to be said for heavy metal over gaudy plastic.

  5. Malin Ellisdotter H · September 22, 2015

    Such a lovely post, Robin. Those were the days… And I have to say the same as Lignum Draco… I watched the entire vid :))

    • northumbrianlight · September 22, 2015

      Good, solid, Swedish engineering – makes for compelling viewing Malin 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Third Policeman | northumbrian : light

Leave a comment