Weekly Photo Challenge: Symbol

My first bicycle was a BSA and my second a Triumph Palm Beach – foggy damp Manchester was about as far removed from sandy beaches as can be imagined but then the Triumph Smog doesn’t quite have the same ring.

According to various websites, the Palm Beach was actually produced by Raleigh using the name Triumph under licence from the motorcycle company.  There is therefore a long and distant connection between my pedal-powered days and my Triumph Scrambler. Both symbolise freedom, the wind in your hair/helmet and life on the open road.  Toad would understand completely 🙂

... Triumph

My WordPress activity has diminished lately because when I am not hitting golf balls (not very successfully) I am out on wheels of various configurations. By way of explanation here are some more images of the Scrambler from life on the open road:

... but the star of Jurassic World

... on the road from Carrshield - in the background, the Allen Mills chimneys.

... near Birtley

Now spot the Triumph Scrambler (and the golf clubs!) in this trailer – star of stage, screen and Northumberland.

14 comments

  1. Sue · July 12, 2015

    A great symbol of freedom!

    • northumbrianlight · July 13, 2015

      Thanks Sue – its only weakness is the range between fill-ups, about 110 miles – not a bike to cross the Sahara 😉

      • Sue · July 13, 2015

        Hmm, yes!

  2. LaVagabonde · July 13, 2015

    The photo of the beauty by the side of the road is the very image of freedom. Enjoy your rides, Robin. 😀

  3. easyweimaraner · July 13, 2015

    summer is the best time to ride into the sunset with the wind in your hair and the flies on the vizor :o) I enjoyed this moments, even when I was the worst biker girl ever :o) … it must be a special kind of karma that I have a dog named Easy Rider LOL

    • northumbrianlight · July 13, 2015

      It is surprising how big some of those flies are, like getting paint-balled! Great synchronicity having a dog named Easy Rider – you are obviously fonda bikes 😉

  4. socialbridge · July 13, 2015

    Bikes of all descrptions are freedom-makers. Not unlike the open spaces of golf courses.

    • northumbrianlight · July 13, 2015

      I like that connection Jean – I wish I had said that … and I probably will 🙂

      • socialbridge · July 13, 2015

        Well, you have me thinking about elbows since that comment a while back. I’ll have to get them out of my system somehow!

  5. Malin Ellisdotter H · August 12, 2015

    A beauty.

    • northumbrianlight · August 12, 2015

      Thanks Malin, she is – I now have a great desire to let her loose on the empty roads of northern Scandinavia.

  6. Pingback: birth |100 Emotions (a sketching challenge) | Ramisa the Authoress
  7. Pingback: birth |100 Emotions (a sketching challenge) | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a comment