Victorian Market

These are more images from our recent trip to Inverness. They were taken at the Victorian Market: indoors, on a grey day, in artificial light at ISO 1600, they are silky smooth. I remain astonished by the quality of images produced by the Fuji X100s under less than ideal conditions.  Perversely they were shot in Fujifilm Velvia mode and then converted using OnOne’s B&W simulation (20th Century Classic Silver/City Streets). I sound like a Fuji salesman but this is one magical little device – expensive but they are coming down in price (damn) and are now available in black (double-damn) 😦

Victorian Market Victorian Market Victorian Market Victorian Market Victorian Market Victorian Market

(click on the images to enlarge)

9 comments

  1. Lignum Draco · February 27, 2014

    Nice shots, although I’m feeling a bit dizzy with all the tilting. 🙂

    • northumbrianlight · February 27, 2014

      Thanks – no excuse either – the X100s has an artificial horizon, a bit like flying a plane 🙂

  2. LaVagabonde · February 27, 2014

    There is a nice effect to the photos you take with the Fuji. Can’t put my finger on what it is exactly – luminosity, clarity, etc. Those ladies look delighted to have caught your eye. So, if your camera isn’t black, what color is it? Or shouldn’t I ask? 😉

    • northumbrianlight · February 27, 2014

      Glad you said that Julie, thought it might just be me. I guess It is a combination of the Fuji X-Trans sensor and a superb lens. It is ‘retro’ made to look like a traditional 35mm film viewfinder camera- black and silver – the new version just blackens out the silver. I have always preferred all black cameras but I still like the looks of this one… http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilm-x100s

  3. restlessjo · February 27, 2014

    Reminds me so much of the market in Leeds, Robin. (but that dog wasn’t there 🙂 )

    • northumbrianlight · February 28, 2014

      Yup Jo, I have been dragged reluctantly round there too 😦
      I loved the way the busker’s neckerchief matched the dog 🙂

  4. Graham Stephen · February 28, 2014

    nicely unsettling dutch tilts

    • northumbrianlight · March 1, 2014

      “widely used to depict madness” – not sure if that is the subject or the photographer 🙂

Leave a comment