Travel theme: Hidden

This is the entrance to Chirk Tunnel on the Llangollen Canal; I am hidden in the dark as the narrowboat enters the 495 yards of dank dark underground waterway dug into a Welsh hillside.  The boat is the Anglo-Welsh Water Daffodil which we hired out of Nantwich in 1977; once considered a very desirable boat, the odd example can still be seen on the waterways in private hands, most in a sorry state.

At the entrance, nearly hidden, stands young Alice waiting to be lifted back on the boat before disappearing down the rabbit hole.  I have not kept on good terms with Time who is not to be trusted – I realise that this version of Alice Liddell will now be in her late thirties:

`If you knew Time as well as I do,’ said the Hatter, `you wouldn’t talk about wasting it. It’s him.’
`I don’t know what you mean,’ said Alice.
`Of course you don’t!’  the Hatter said, tossing his head contemptuously.  `I dare say you never even spoke to Time!’
`Perhaps not,’  Alice cautiously replied: `but I know I have to beat time when I learn music.’
`Ah! that accounts for it,’ said the Hatter. `He won’t stand beating. Now, if you only kept on good terms with him, he’d do almost anything you liked with the clock’.
 – Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland.

Chirk TunnelThis provides the perfect excuse to insert the Tom Waits track, Alice:

12 comments

  1. LaVagabonde · September 10, 2013

    Perfect synchronicity with Alice, the photo, and the music. Fabulously strange. 🙂

    • northumbrianlight · September 10, 2013

      Many thanks – the video was quite a find – reminds me of something Adam Curtis might have produced – e.g. http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/adamcurtis/posts/MASSIVE-ATTACK-V-ADAM-CURTIS
      PS – I would be interested to know if you can see the video at the end of his blog, not sure that BBC iPlayer works outside the UK. If not he has plenty of interesting stuff on youtube.

      • LaVagabonde · September 10, 2013

        My gosh. Did you get to see this show? It looks bloody brilliant.

      • northumbrianlight · September 10, 2013

        🙂 That answers my question – you can see it – unfortunately not but he has produced some seriously strange and thought provoking documentaries for the BBC which are mostly on youtube.

  2. Tish Farrell · September 10, 2013

    An intriguing congruence of images; love the Tom Waits.

    • northumbrianlight · September 10, 2013

      Thanks Tish – must find more excuses for including Tom Waits 🙂

  3. patrick · September 10, 2013

    The Alice in the photo’s youngest daughter (name escapes me, I met them briefly at Xmas) must be about the same age that she is in the photo . Hadn’t seen the Adam Curtis video before either

    • northumbrianlight · September 10, 2013

      More synchronicity or similar. I am not bothering with the future – I am staying here 🙂 BTW – Trump looked almost human before he acquired the mat on his head and started building unnecessary golf courses. Good to know you are watching Paddy.

  4. restlessjo · September 14, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed this piece of whimsy. 🙂

    • northumbrianlight · September 15, 2013

      Thanks Jo – my ‘random thoughts’ can get a little too random at times 🙂

  5. Graham Stephen · September 15, 2013

    Splendid!

Leave a comment