Red Bull

I am fond of this Longhorn – he has appeared in this blog before but he is such a handsome beast that he deserves more exposure.  He seems quite docile but you would not want to stand within the arc of those horns – a sudden turn of the head could have dire consequences; impaled by innocent curiosity.

Red Bull

Red BullHe does not have a name that I am aware of but I am sure he has a number.  I was once involved in the development of a common identity set for migrant workers, a surprisingly difficult if dry subject.  In a long ago presentation to the European Commission I concluded that as our colleagues in agriculture had developed such a reliable system for the transportation of livestock across borders, we should give every migrant worker a cow – my attempt to lighten the proceedings did not go down well in all quarters; it is more than CAP and the UK rebate that divides us.

Red Bull

Red Bull

Red Bull

Apologies to all those who were expecting a post on motor racing – perhaps he is called Sebastian or more likely Mark (@AussieGrit).

8 comments

  1. patrick · March 12, 2013

    Ah, humour and work… Unmixy things. I remember going through a door for the ‘Crawdor room’ at a hotel in Nairn to give a presentation on the Sexual Offences Act and briefly toying with beginning my talk by asking ‘Is this a dogger I see before me?’

    • northumbrianlight · March 12, 2013

      You should have 🙂 If it was the Cawdor Room at the Newton Hotel then that is the building where your Great Great Uncle Charlie was in service to the Great Panjandrum (Sir Robert Finlay). I want to go there.

      • patrick · March 12, 2013

        Just checked and yes, it was the Newton Hotel. Dimly remember that it was an impressive building, though I was too drowsy from a 6am train from Edinburgh to take it in really.

  2. Mary Gilmartin · March 13, 2013

    The Longhorn has a handsome strong face. I can see why you are fond of him.

    • northumbrianlight · March 13, 2013

      There is just this small family, the red bull, a couple of wives and his offspring. I may be wrong but I don’t think this is a serious commercial enterprise, I think the owners just love the animals – they always look well cared for.

  3. Pingback: Winter fields | northumbrian : light
  4. bentehaarstad · March 14, 2013

    Really nice and interesting pictures of this handsome beast.

    • northumbrianlight · March 15, 2013

      Thanks very much – he really is an impressive animal – you get the feeling he knows it 🙂

Leave a comment