Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says

Just a few days ago we were on the Isle of Muck; these two signs say much about the island.  The first is unpretentious and needs fixing to its post but what matters is that the food should be good, and it is (the chocolate crunch is recommended).  Their dog is obviously proud:Isle of Muck

If you look closely at this second sign there is even a tongue in cheek hint at modernity, The Green Shed offering a 24×7 service.  How is this achieved – simple, never lock the door and operate an honesty box.  It says much that they not only trust their own but also the visitors; it seems unlikely that the crime rate is high on this or any of the other small islands.Isle of Muck

Of course I am just using this Photo Challenge as an excuse to post pictures from this wonderful small island that we were privileged to see on the very best of days.  I don’t know what I did to deserve this good fortune but it must have been in a previous life; nothing springs to mind from this one:Isle of MuckIsle of Muck

Perhaps I should not have tried black and white, it was such a technicolor day, but then I started Mucking 🙂 about and came up with these; just remember the sky is deep blue, the sands white and the grass a lush green:Isle of MuckIsle of MuckIsle of Muck

(click on images to enlarge).

19 comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (bicycles go where?) | What's (in) the picture?
  2. Amy · June 1, 2013

    Beautiful photos of the island! Love the b/w images.

  3. LaVagabonde · June 2, 2013

    It looks like a lovely place in spite of its not-so-elegant name.

    • northumbrianlight · June 2, 2013

      Named before marketing and branding gurus existed.
      Its neighbours, Rhum and Eigg, sound more inviting if not in combination 🙂

  4. anthropologist · June 2, 2013

    Beautiful. I like the black-and-whites, they are so evocative.

    • northumbrianlight · June 2, 2013

      Many thanks – the black and whites worked better than I thought they would. Thanks for taking the time to to look and comment.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Signs Say (My Name! Well, almost) | What's (in) the picture?
  6. Mary Gilmartin · June 2, 2013

    What an interesting island. I like the b/w photograph with the horse in it.

    • northumbrianlight · June 2, 2013

      Thanks Mary – yes I was pleased with that – he positioned himself just right 🙂

  7. mrscarmichael · June 2, 2013

    wonderful photos. At least you started with a sign or two and I do love an honesty box.

    • northumbrianlight · June 2, 2013

      Many thanks – so do I – we operate one at the golf club I belong to but I am not convinced everyone is as honest as they are on Muck.

  8. menomama3 · June 2, 2013

    I love a walk through the Muck. Beautiful.

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (What happened to faith?) | What's (in) the picture?
  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (Puerto de las Palomas) | What's (in) the picture?
  11. bentehaarstad · June 4, 2013

    Yes I like colours, but I love these in B&W too. Great landscape and animals.

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (Sign Revisited) | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a comment