Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers

LayersThis is probably against all the rules but once I got this film title in my head, I could not shift it.  The image is mine and was taken on the streets of Quebec – the rest of the poster layout is not.  The original can be found here – I can’t imagine this was used outside the UK because unless you are familiar with the layout and significance of British cherished/private number plates, the subtlety of this poster may be lost.

Just to emphasise the link to this week’s challenge, my version of the edited poster is made up of eight Photoshop layers, including graffiti taken from a section of the Berlin Wall and housed in the John F. Kennedy Library & Museum, Boston:

Layer Cake

For more detail on the film, click here.

15 comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers | Pilot Fish
  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers | Pilot Fish
  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers (Water, Roads and Lines) | What's (in) the picture?
  4. Sarah Longes - Mirador Design · November 17, 2013

    Great bit of poster art! I enjoy working with multiple layers in Photoshop. Fab film too 🙂

    • northumbrianlight · November 17, 2013

      Thanks Sarah, it is very tempting to manipulate movie posters – I resisted including my name in the cast list 🙂

      • Sarah Longes - Mirador Design · November 18, 2013

        I once created a fake movie poster for a friend’s birthday party invitations. It was a combination of Doctor Who and Scooby Doo, “Scooby Who”! Great fun 🙂

  5. wrygrass.com · November 17, 2013

    This is so interesting! Innovative interpretation.

  6. Pingback: weekly-photo-challenge-layers #photography #poetry | Moondustwriter's Blog
  7. restlessjo · November 18, 2013

    It’s a work of genius! (or lunacy 🙂 )

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers | Through the Eye of Bastet
  9. Pingback: Layers of nature | Processing the life
  10. mybeautfulthings · November 22, 2013

    Excellent take on the Challenge! I like it!

    My own numberplate (a present from the kids for a significant birthday -well, aren’t they all really?) contains SHS which I love because it reads the same upside-down, not that I plan on turning my little Beetle upside-down! 🙂

    • northumbrianlight · November 22, 2013

      I like that idea – reg plates that still work upside down. I have often wondered if DVLA are smart enough to spot sequences that look ‘inappropriate’ in a rearview mirror (I must try and work some out 🙂 ) . I had never considered the possibilities of inversion 🙂

Leave a Reply

